Startseite » News

This page offers the latest informations and news regarding the work of Thorsten Soltau.

~ AUGUST 2022

Two new releases mastered by Thorsten Soltau.

Geräuschmanufaktur has recently made two CDs available, mastered by Thorsten Soltau in March 2022.
øjeRum’s ›19 Strings‹ and Jan Warnke’s ›The Voodoo Forest‹ come each in a detailed and lavishly designed digipak. Both releases can also be purchased digitally.
Thorsten Soltau has further submitted modular sounds to ›The Voodoo Forest‹, a project between Jan Warnke and fantasy illustrator John Blanche build around the visual ark of Warhammer 40K.

All artist copies are sold out; we ask you to order from the label directly.

~ JULY 2022

Bandcamp page termination.

With 5th August 2022 the bandcamp page of Thorsten Soltau will be permanently deleted.
The bandcamp page had become an digital backup in 2020 with all releases set to private.
As the deletion will make access to formerly purchased music impossible, we ask kindly any purchaser to download his files until friday, 5th August 2022.

With 2023 approaching, a new platform will be founded to give streaming / purchasing access to the crvx. arkhive. News about this will be published in the next months.

Documentary postponed.

The planned documentary ›Fur And Fangs‹ is postponed to 2023.
Femurl has finished her soundtrack which is now in the stage of editing/mastering.

~ MAY 2022

Exclusive piece by Niels Geybels & Thorsten Soltau.

Niels Geybels & Thorsten Soltau have submitted an exclusive electroacoustic composition to Audio. Visuals. Atmosphere.’s 100th release, ›First Rays & A Lasting Echo‹.
The piece ›Halo Arc‹ was released on 6th May and is available for free download among a total of 27 other tracks from label-related musicians. 
A very limited physical edition spanning 3xCS is also available at the same page.

~ JANUARY 2022

New rework for Siegmar Fricke by Marina Stewart.

Siegmar Fricke has released a compilation of unreleased tracks recorded and produced in 1995. ›Physical Modelling‹ spans seven unheard cues from the archive. Regarding his recognition as a crafter of sampledelica these tracks showcase a mature and technically sophisticated approach towards electronica not too far from his later sonic explorations as Pharmakustik.
Utilizing midi-controlled equipment and sampling, the album leaves the path of the previous light-hearted production characteristics. Tracks like ›Monokuliert‹ or ›Cryoglide‹ inhabit a modernist feeling for 1995, closer to the irregular patterns of Warp attachés LFO or the zig zag techniques developed by Detroits Dopplereffekt. 
›Physical Modelling‹ was carefully restored and remastered from the original 4-track master at Pharmakustik-Studio. As a bonus, Pharmakustik and Marina Stewart reworked two cues from the album. Diving into Zeitgeist experimentalism, the remixes update the already futuristic character of the originals to modern standards. 

The album was released on 9th January and is available for download on Bandcamp.


Exclusive piece by Thorsten Soltau.

Thorsten Soltau has submitted an exclusive electroacoustic composition to Geräuschmanufaktur’s digital Advent Calendar.
The piece ›Baptized On Christmas‹ was released on 22nd December and is available for free download.


›Diligence And Tendency‹ boxset released.

›Diligence And Tendency‹, a four tape boxset featuring unreleased archival work by Thorsten Soltau, has finally been released.

Physical copies are available via Morbus Gravis via Discogs.
Digital music can be purchased from Forced Nostalgia on bandcamp.
All artist copies are sold out; we ask you to order from the label directly.

~ AUGUST 2021

New release: ›Acker Und Seche‹

The renowned Cologne based label aufabwegen has released the collaborative album Acker Und Seche by EMERGE, RLW and Thorsten Soltau.
The CD comes as a limited edition CD with 200 copies in full colour Ecopack sleeve.
The complete sleeve is adorned with commissioned artwork by Dan Penschuck (feindesign).

You can buy the album via these outlets:
a-musik [GER]
Anost [GER]
aufabwegen [GER]
Going Underground [GER]
boomkat [UK]
Cold Spring [UK]
Juno Records [UK]

Vital Weekly [NL]